Home > Uncategorized > Things I learned this past week

Things I learned this past week

I was scheduled for a laparoscopy last Friday to have a look and see what the status of my endometrosis is. I had been having increasingly more pain over the last few years and had exhausted all non-surgical avenues. The surgery was scheduled for Friday and I’d be back at work on Monday.

Unfortunately, the endo was so bad, the doc decided to cut me up abdominally and work it out that way. Simple 1hr surgery became a longer 3hr one. Recovery time: 4-6 weeks.

But every challenge in life brings on new opportunities to learn life lessons. Here is what I learned:

1. The nurses in the maternity ward (where they put cases like me) have bad pain management skills. Tylenol is not a pain killer people. That’s right – Tylenol. Not Tylenol3 or Extra Strength Tylenol, just plain Tylenol. Two pills every four hours. Which I do believe is the correct dosage for a large cat or small dog.

2. Drainage tube removal is not as sexy and exciting as it sounds. Mostly due to point 1 above.

3. The number of times the cats want to walk across my incision site is directly proportional to the amount of pain it will cause me. There has been a virtual parade of cats across my midsection since the surgery – the same cats who ignore me any other time.

4. Laughter is not the best medicine. In fact, it is the worst medicine after someone cuts into your stomach, second only to parading cats. Sneezing and coughing also suck.

5. Going into surgical menopause makes movies more dramatic. You can cry at horror movies oh yes you can. And I did.

6. You can fit a 5’10” wife into two chairs pushed together so she can sleep in your hospital room overnight. She isn’t very comfortable and she has to wake up every hour when the nurses come in to check on you, but she can fit… ok, she can’t fit, but she did it anyway. Poor thing.

So hopefully I’ve learned enough about surgery. Now I would like to learn more about say… the hazards of winning the lottery.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jenn
    February 5, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    Glad to see you are home and that the cats are being attentive. A lovely fluffy pillow across your abdomen, clutched tightly to your midsection during times of sneezing/ coughing will help – a lot. I cannot vouch for the efficacy in cat paw protection. Advil extra strength works better than any over the counter Tylenol. Walk. A lot. It sucks, but it helps in the long run (so to speak). Order a spa day for Rebecca. She deserves it. Lastly, I miss you and I wish I was closer so I could bring you coffee and help Rebecca with the vacuuming. Because that’s all I am good at, apparently. Love to you both!

    • February 5, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      I wish you guys were here too. A pillow works well for the cats too. We had to come up with a means of protection because they were so grumpy when we locked them out at night. Of course now that we leave the door open, they don’t try to sleep with us. Typical cats.

      And yes, big spa day for the wife.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

