Home > The Wife (previously RY) > Hair today – gone tomorrow

Hair today – gone tomorrow

My hair is very short and cut in a men’s style, consequently, it needs to be cut every month (or every 6 weeks if I’m not seen in public for the last bit). Because it needs to be cut so often, I do not like to pay too much. And really, it doesn’t take long to cut, there’s no blow dry and no styling, so it shouldn’t cost that much.

When I lived in California, they cut my hair in 15 minutes and charged me practically nothing. It was very short though and I could go 2 months without another cut.

In Ontario, I went to the salon in my apartment building. She was very slow and took almost an hour (and considering there was no wash, that’s quite a long time) and charged me $22. It was a decent cut for the most part.

Then I moved and she was no longer convenient. I went to a place in Square One and he charged me $80. Never went back.

I tried a number of places, then went to First Choice. A $12 haircut is perfect. If it was a bad cut, it was better within 2 weeks.

At one point, an ex-gf was getting her hair coloured by a fellow ROTC twirler who worked in the salon in the gay village and mentioned my crappy haircuts. He said he would cut my hair for $20. I believe I blogged about how he told me that I had been parting my hair on the wrong side all my life. But the haircuts were fantastic and it was only $20 so I stayed.

He then moved to Vancouver.

I tried Mr Ho’s in the village too. He was good but only if I got him. If I got an assistant, it was bad. But only $15.

Eventually I went back to the First Choice $12 haircuts.

Then the wife arrived.

Hesitant to  return to expensive cuts, I convinced her to let me try the little mall by our gym. If one girl there cut it, it was $40 + tip and not too bad). If any other girl cut it, chaos!

In between mall cuts, she had me at the salon in the hood (haircuts started off great but then the quality declined – cost $57 – $73 plus tip). Then I went to her place in Sherway ($80 – worst haircut ever). And yesterday I went to her spa (where she gets her updo’s): $50+tip. The sides were good and the back wasn’t sticking up, but it looks like she didn’t even cut the front. I had to ask her to cut the wisps coming down in front of my ears. She added some styling for free but that resulted in the crown of my hair being teased to max height so I looked like an elfin bridesmaid.

I’m going back to the $12 cuts next month. If I’m going to have a bad haircut, I’m certainly not paying $50 for it. 🙂

  1. August 10, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    I understand your problem, I think I think exactly like you in most situations.

    I myself go to a manly barbershop, and the basic charge is $12. They are dying to get some women in their shop – so if you’re in Edmonton at the end of your hair cycle, let me know. I can imagine it might be awkward, but have you tried an ordinary men’s barbershop?

    • August 11, 2011 at 7:42 am

      i have considered that. it’s a question that has long plagued women like me. and really, why would a salon charge me for a women’s cut when i’m obviously not getting one. only yesterday i had lunch with my ex-boss and the waitress addressed us as “gentlemen” – this should mean i get charged for the men’s cut.

      and thanks for the invitation but when i’m in edmonton, i get my mom to cut my hair. the price is excellent and sometimes she throws in a dye job! it’s my favourite 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

