Home > Baby - Creation & Beyond, The Wife (previously RY) > Tit is not for tat this time baby.

Tit is not for tat this time baby.

Sometimes the wife likes to enforce a double standard in our home. This happens when you date a beautiful, high maintenance femme. And sometimes, I’m fine with it.

On some very rare occasions, I fight the double standard. For example, the other day I told the wife that I was going to run her car through the car wash before I picked her up from her meeting so she’d get picked up in a shiny clean car (which she loves), but it looked like nasty rain was coming so I didn’t. I told her she should give me credit for trying though. She said that I only deserved credit for the execution, not for trying.

A couple of days later, we were driving to her mother’s and she was feeling a little overwhelmed by all the hormones and pushing/prodding she’s been through lately due to our conception process. She said, “I think you should buy me a gift for trying to get pregnant.”

I replied rather smugly, “You don’t get a gift for trying. I’ll get you a gift when you’re pregnant.” Take that tit for tat baby. No double standard this time!

She didn’t even hit me…

Meanwhile, I have been giving the wife her daily self-administered injection (she has to take anti-coagulants every day until week 27 of pregnancy or until we find out she’s not pregnant). She rates me on how well I do it, which isn’t usually well – I’m an engineer, not a doctor, damn it! I did get one 15 out of 10, but I generally average around 7 out of 10.

She would like to give me an injection so I know what it feels like, but as I don’t need an anti-coagulant, she cannot. She quietly fumes because she knows she should be on the injecting side of that needle.

And then it happened – As I have been experiencing severe endometriosis pain, my OB-GYN has prescribed a round of Lupron  for me, which requires monthly injections for 3-6 months starting today. Thankfully, it has to be administered by a physician.

Phew.

 

  1. jill
    June 29, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I hope the Lupron works for you. I had a terrible reaction to it, and as it had a month-long shelf life in my system, it was a brutal month. Hot flashes, even worse-than-normal migraines, no sleep; it pretty much put me into hyper-menopause.

    I’ve tried a lot for my endo over the years, but none of the drug treatments worked. In the end, staying on birth control to help keep it under control, and then laps every couple of years seems to be the best I can hope for. Oh, and the oophorectomy two years ago. My GYN said to me a few years ago, “I just really want you to meet Prince Charming ASAP, get knocked up, have all your babies, and then let me take all that crappy plumbing out.”

    • June 29, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      i’m pretty optimistic. i was on Lupron after my first lap and it was magic. i then switched to depo provera and that killed me (over 3 months in my system for that one) and got my uterus and right ovary removed shortly thereafter. i’ve been pretty good for the next 5 or so years but 3 christmases ago, pain started coming back. it’s a nasty nasty disease and i’m soooo looking forward to menopause. hopefully this round will kill the pain for a while because a lap is the next step.

      i’m sorry to hear you’ve got this madness too. good luck with Prince Charming although you don’t really need one technically. Prince Charming can be yours for about $700 in a vial (shipping, handling, appointments, hormones etc extra)

      • June 29, 2011 at 2:55 pm

        oh and yes, i will get hot flashes. i like them during the day but the night ones blow.

  2. June 29, 2011 at 6:09 pm

    I’m presuming she’s on tinzaparin? That stuff stings like the devil no matter HOW good you are at injections (ask me how I know lol)
    I really really hope this works for you two, I’m excited just reading the posts!

  3. June 29, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    she’s on Fragmin. i love the little injection thingies. they are very cool and spring loaded and i’d love to take them apart and examine them. however, the pharmacy gave me a sharps container and i dutifully put them in there when i’m done.

    thanks for the good wishes about conception. we’ll have to try again next month as she started her period today. apparently that first round didn’t take. good thing we reserved extra spermies from our donor. 🙂

  4. Jenn
    June 30, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    I hope you notice the two sentences that are most glaringly oxymoronic. “…I have been giving the wife her daily self-administered injection…” and “She quietly fumes because she knows she should be on the injecting side of that needle.” I think she should try injecting herself to see if she does better or worse than you do so she has a fair comparison! The angle is probably better too as they are supposed to be “self-administered” by “self” not “engineer”.

    And then I woke up.

    Love you both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

