Home > Stupid Things I Do > I’m stupid but trusted by the law.

I’m stupid but trusted by the law.

Last week, we got a PVR from Rogers. Essentially, I just had to unplug the old cable box, plug this one in and program the remote. Rogers automatically does the rest. It came with very good instructions.
 
As an engineer, I followed the instructions to the letter. At the end, I ran out of instructions and it wasn’t working. I called tech support.
 
Tech support asked if I did something. I had. Then she told me to go the box and press the power button. So I did. That fixed it.
 
#$&*!
 
Later that week, RY and I were driving up to Newmarket to pick up her bridesmaid dress for her brother’s wedding. It’s about an hour from our place. We stopped in North York to get some cash to pay the seamstress. Coming out of the bank lot, we couldn’t turn left, which is the direction we wanted to go. So I turned left and pulled into the left lane so could pull a U-turn. While in the left turn lane, I saw a sign indicating I was not allowed to turn left. Hmmm… Since I was already in the turn lane and traffic was coming behind me thereby preventing me from getting back in the right lane, I U-turned anyway.
 
That’s when I made eye contact with the OPP officer in the Esso parking lot. Ugh.
 
They pull me over. One officer approaches my side casually. Another officer approaches RY’s side of the car with his hand on his gun. Obviously they are trained to know the femme in the passenger seat is going to be the troublesome one.
 
I roll down my window and the officer says "Did you know you pulled a U-turn…" I just said "yes" and handed him my info (which I had ready).
 
They go back to their car to run my information and RY is cursing the whole time.
 
Then the officer comes back, gives me a warning and helps me merge back into traffic.
 
RY is annoyed that I get off when she gets a ticket. I think I get off because unlike her, I’ve never used the expression "why are you wasting the tax payers money?". She believes I got off because I am a "trusted travellor".
Categories: Stupid Things I Do
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

