Home > Fitness, Sports & Other Things That Hurt Me, LGBT, ROTC > I’m gayer than I look.

I’m gayer than I look.

 
Earlier this month I attended a straight soccer buddy’s wedding. It was very hot. In fact, it was the day after the Streetsville parade.
 
At the reception, a different soccer buddy’s husband sat beside me. I have been with the team for about 5 years and he’s been to a good number of the games – probably all the home games. Plus he has seen me perform at three different Brampton Santa Claus parades with my flag twirling group, "the Righteously Outrageous Twirling Corp".
 
At the reception he asked me how the Streetsville parade went. I told him it was REALLY hot. Way to hot to twirl in fact.
 
He said, "Couldn’t you have just not showed up? It’s not like you get paid for this."
 
I replied, "Actually, we DO get paid for it. It’s just the pride parades we don’t get paid for."
 
Then there was this pause as he looked a little nervous and shy and then said very cautiously, "you mean…. the… homosexual pride parades?"
 
He he. Who uses the word "homosexual" anymore?
 
I said, "yes, the gay pride parades".
 
He said, "how do you switch back and forth?"
 
Oh my. I told him we were a gay group then asked if he noticed the rainbow flags on our truck. He said he hadn’t. Poor man didn’t have a clue I was gay. And I was sitting there beside him wearing a shirt, tie and vest.
 
Well, I guess he’s a step ahead of my great-auntie Jean. He knows I’m female…. I think.
  1. Jenn
    June 23, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I am willing to bet he has no idea you are a girl.

  2. S
    July 2, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    but i play on his wife\’s soccer team and it\’s not coed. so he must think i\’m female…. really, he must.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

