Home > Uncategorized > Poll: lame or charming & whimsical – you decide.

Poll: lame or charming & whimsical – you decide.

 
Here’s the story:
 
I was in Phoenix in November. I go to Phoenix a lot. A LOT. While there, my company put me in a furnished apartment instead of a hotel. The maid we hired to clean the apartment between workers put the cheapest toilet paper ever in the bathrooms. It was one ply and so darn dry and scratchy that you had to put hand lotion on after using it.
 
In the Phoenix office, however, was the best, softest, comforting toilet paper I’ve ever experienced. It was heaven on a cardboard tube. If you had this tp in your home, you would never buy kleenex.
 
I decided that I would bring back a roll for the DS as a souvenir from my trip to Phoenix, because really, who wants a tacky tourism souvenir? They are mass produced in China and are available in every major city across North America. All they do is change the name on the front.
 
This gift was also extremely thoughtful because:
 
1. it is something that she will definitely use
2. it is nothing she has to dust
3. it’s nothing she has to save and put out every time I visit to pretend she likes it (although, trust me, if she doesn’t like it – she won’t pretend to)
4. it’s an example of how I am thinking of her comfort
5. it’s different and thoughtful – not something standard that every tom, dick and harry pick up for their women
6. one size fits all!
 
So I thought it was a delightful, whimsical, charming way to show I was thinking of her during my Phoenix trip.
 
She did not.
 
I polled my family around the Christmas dinner table, and they agreed it wasn’t a good gift idea. Although I’m not sure how much I trust their gift giving advice as my brother DID buy me a cookbook for Christmas and we all know from my November blogs that I don’t cook.
 
What do you think?
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ~femme~
    December 28, 2006 at 1:01 pm

    Dear Well Meaning Boi,Had you wrapped something sparkly or shiny, like say…Oh, a diamond, an Italian charm bracelet, a bottle of liquid latex, or some other wonderful bauble INSIDE the aforementioned toilet paper, i am quite sure you would have received a delightful, whimsical, charming response to said gift.
    heheh.  Happy New Year!
    ~femmeinterrupted~

  2. Denise
    December 29, 2006 at 12:56 pm

    Oh my!
     
    I agree with FI above…at the very least a sweet peom inside the roll MIGHT have saved your ass (pun intended) and yet knowing you as I do (did you not get me a toaster oven for a gift and I did not appreciate the jesture?) I do know in all your logically twisted mind you did mean well…you are so funny! A bath robe fits all the above criteria as well….knucklehead!

  3. S
    December 29, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    mmmm liquid latex……

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

