Home > Uncategorized > Taking personal responsibility is painful.

Taking personal responsibility is painful.

 
So…
 
I was in emergency with chest pains last week. No big deal – it’s not a heart attack, it’s a sternum thing. I’m fine. This week, while walking to the lunch room for my morning coffee, my back spasmed. I’ve had a sore back before, but not a spasm. Terribly painful, let me tell you.
 
I’m far too young for this many health problems. The DS has decided that I am to "take control" and "personal responsibility" for my situation. Okey Dokey.
 
I ask the DS to start me on a programme. She tells me to do 20 minutes of cardio every morning before I shower. Fair enough. I did 20 minutes on my elliptical this morning. Then I made a protein shake with banana and blueberry, and scrambled egg whites with a wee bit of grated old cheddar. The morning started off brilliantly.  She is also giving me suggestions regarding my diet. She insists that I will feel a difference within 6 months.
 
At lunch, Lily, a co-worker, took me to her acupunturist who helps her when she has spasms. She came to translate because he is Chinese. Very official. He massaged me for 30 minutes and then stuck four needles in my spine. I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck and you should see the bruise on my back. Yikes. Apparently he had to press hard because of my "thick flesh". Yes, my thick flesh. Good thing he didn’t need to massage my tummy. There’s some pretty thick flesh there. I should have known I was in trouble when I heard the doctor speak to Lily in Chinese, then Lily said "OH NO!" (And yes, she did mean me. My lower spine is going to take some serious effort to fix.)
 
But I’m optimistic. I found a free online resource for tracking your nutrition and fitness. It’s received some pretty good reviews. It does seem like a lot of work to write things down but I’ll give it a go. If you’re interested, click here. You too can keep track of your life. I bet I keep this up for 27 days before I lose interest in this online crap.
 
But I will stick with the DS’s programme for a while. Or she’ll beat me. Or worse than beat me, she’ll make me do a ‘cleansing diet’. Nasty.
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jenn
    November 24, 2006 at 12:12 pm

    Geez.  Hope you are better soon!
     
    I am taking six weeks of stress leave myself starting Monday.  No back spasms, just a strong desire to eat nails rather than go to work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

