Home > Uncategorized > What was that movie where Tom Hanks lived in the airport?

What was that movie where Tom Hanks lived in the airport?

 
My flight to Phoenix today was scheduled to leave at 10:20 am. It was Toronto to Chicago, then Chicago to Phoenix. I would arrive in Phoenix about 2pm (5pm TO time).
 
I figured I’d have the cab pick me up at 7 am. That way I would have 30-40 minutes to get to the airport in rush hour traffic, 45 – 60 minutes to get through the long American Airlines ticket line, 45 minutes to get through customs and then 30 minutes for the new security check. That would put me at my gate between 9:30 and 10:00. Good plan.
 
The cabbie arrived at my place early and there was no traffic. We got to the airport at 7:15. There was no line at the AA ticketing, no line at customs and no line at security. They didn’t open my bag or stripsearch me. I was at my gate by 7:35 am. I waited. I waited. And it was a bad wait because it was Terminal 3. Terminal 3 sucks. There wasn’t a good coffee shop anywhere. I could SEE a Tim Horton’s through the security glass but I wasn’t allowed to get there. It was on the Canadian departures side, not the US departure side. So close and yet so far. Taunting bastards.
 
About 9:30, I notice the gate sign says "MIAMI". I go talk to the attendant and ask which gate the Chicago flight was leaving from. She said, "We cancelled that flight." Yikes. Luckily, they re-booked me on the 2:45 pm flight. So now what do I do?
 
If I leave, how long will it take me to clear customs and security in the afternoon? Do I need to be there one or two hours early? I’d also have to pay a cab to take me away and back as I don’t have my car. So I decided to stay at the airport for the four hours.
 
I arrived in Phoenix at 7:00 pm.
 
I picked up my rental car, got lost several times and ended up at my hotel at 8:30 pm. (That’s 11:30 pm TO time.) I did nothing but wait and sit and I’m exhausted. I’m going to bed. Good night all.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

