Goodbye soccer!

 
I have been playing soccer most of my life. I took a break when I started university until I was about 28 as I was busy in school, at the fort and playing softball.
 
Once I came back to soccer, I found I liked it a lot and played even when I was in California. Moving to Toronto was good because they have an indoor soccer facility fairly close to work and at one point, I was playing on five teams. It was awesome.
 
Now I’m not sure what happened, but I just don’t have the passion for it that I once had. Between my lack of passion and all the trips to Phoenix I’ve had to take this year, I’ve attended about half my games. That’s not good – missing all those games means I’ve missed all that practice and experience and my skills are eroding.
 
Also, I find in my old age, I don’t heal as quickly as I used to and my primary concern has become the attempt to avoid injury. That’s not a good trait in a keeper. Keepers need to be a little crazy.
 
So anyway, I have decided that I am going to stop playing soccer and try to do more sports that:
 
1. are non-contact so I don’t risk some whacko getting overzealous about scoring and hurting me
2. give me more of a workout (being the keeper for a soccer team is NOT good exercise)
3. do not have 10:45 pm games on a weeknight
4. people don’t rely on me to show up so work can send me places and I don’t feel guilty about letting the team down
 
And I have to do this quickly because the DS’s bad habit of dark chocolate and beer (yes, she’s very health conscious, but the chocolate and beer are just too good to avoid sometimes and on her wee wee body, you just don’t see the beer!) have caused me to put on a few pounds this summer. I have to get rid of those pounds, plus a few more I’ve been hanging on to since, um, 1989 I think.
 
Anyway, we played our last games of the soccer season yesterday (year end tournament – we lost all three games) and now I’m done. I am not joining any indoor teams this winter.
 
I’m not sure how this affects my blog title because although the ‘fat’ may be true, the ‘keeper’ is not. (And the ‘fat’ won’t be true for long – watch out – I’m on a workout binge and stopping the chocolate and beer fest. After all, it IS fall and beer is best in the hot hot summer. I may still have some chocolate though…) Maybe I should re-start my Fat Keeper Fitness Challenge blog.
 
Oh and for those of you who wondered how that went the first time around, when I went for my first annual follow-up appointment after my hysterectomy, I had lost 10 lbs since the surgery, which is good considering most people gain weight and I was not that active in the few months after the surgery. On the other hand, 10 lbs on me can come and go in a month. Sigh.
 
Wish me luck in my soccer free life. I’m on to new things.
  1. 翔军
    August 27, 2006 at 9:05 am

    hello , i am suntea from China.
    i just look around your space, your cat is very cute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

