Home > LGBT, ROTC > Rochester, New York pride parade.

Rochester, New York pride parade.

Yesterday was the Rochester Pride Parade. My ROTC group went down to perform.
 
We left my place at about noon and due to the bumper-to-bumper traffic on the QEW all the way to the border, arrived at 4:30. The parade started at 5pm, which left us half an hour to pee, decorate the truck and practice the routine. (We have to do a run through prior to every day since a portion of it is people-dependent and if someone doesn’t show up, we have to adjust the routine to compensate.)
 
The parade itself was good – about an hour long – and there were a lot of enthusiastic supporters considering the size of the town. After the parade, many people came up to thank us for coming and Leanne even had a groupie (I’m still waiting for my groupies though…).
 
Unfortunately, there were also protesters. Not one group, not two, not three, but four groups, standing on the side of the road with signs. In each group was a middle-aged caucasian male with an electronic bullhorn reading scripture to us. And to me, it honestly looked like the same middle-aged caucasian male, but I know that’s impossible. One not only read scripture but was saying something like "when you’re standing at the judgement hall before the lord…" and then all I could hear was our music.. "shake it shake it shake it girl"…
 
I think that the next time we come across one of these groups on a parade route, we should all drop our flags, run to the guy with the bullhorn, fall on our knees and start crying "yes! thank you for showing us the light! we repent! we repent!" Then what would he do? Baptise us on the spot?
 
Honestly, don’t these people have better things to do on a Saturday afternoon?
 
The rest of the event was pretty good. We performed the routine on stage after the parade, but the DJ sped up the music so we were performing it very quickly. I actually dropped my flag, although ‘drop’ isn’t quite accurate. I essentially threw it off the stage during the ‘pump it, louder’ moment of the routine. Luckily a spectator passed it back. It could have been very bad if the spectator treated it like a hockey puck shot over the glass at a Leafs game and tried to keep it as a souvenir.
 
The creepiest moment of the day was when my cell phone beeped to tell me I had a new text message. It was from Roger’s Wireless, welcoming me to the U.S. I don’t think I like that my cell phone is keeping track of my location. My mother didn’t even know where I was, I don’t think my wireless provider should.
 
P.S. I learned today that one of the judges for the Toronto Pride Parade where we won the ‘most fabulous choreography’ award was Jake Gold (the Canadian Idol judge). That’s pretty impressive that we could impress an Idol judge and I’m thinking maybe since he is already familiar with my work, I should try out at the next Idol audition. I may not be able to sing, but I’ll distract them with my big pink flag.
 
Oh and Nina Arsenault was also a judge. She’s another local celebrity: she’s "Canada’s most famous transsexual". She’s had a lot of plastic surgery, was on Kink (on Showcase) and writes a column in FAB (one of Toronto’s free gay publications), among other things. Recently, she was introduced to American notoriety when Tommy Lee hit on her in a Toronto club. I’m not sure why, but knowing that Nina Arsenault was looking at our ROTC group (well, let’s face it, I’m sure she was looking at me), absolutely enraptured by our (ie: my) performance and thinking "that’s some fabulous choreography" gets me all excited.
Categories: LGBT, ROTC
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

