Home > Family, Work > Jet lagged thoughts from Edmonton.

Jet lagged thoughts from Edmonton.

It is 6:48 am here in Edmonton. I’m up and showered and ready to take on the day. Of course, my parents are retired and no one else is up here, so I’m taking on the day online. After I finish this blog, I’m going to fire up my laptop and get some work done. woo hoo – vacation!
 
Also keep in mind I went to bed at 8 pm local time last night. I hate travelling across time zones.
 
Oooh – look  – the cat is awake. He must be on Toronto time too. Here kitty, kitty, kitty… hmm.. apparently he has better things to do than hang with me.
 
Holy, it’s so early here that the automatic coffee maker (on a timer) hasn’t even started yet. I’d walk to the 7-Eleven but there’s three feet of snow out there and I brought my summer boots… (what a city boi I’ve turned into!)
 
Speaking of boots, I showed my mom a picture of my Blundstone boots online and she hated them. Then I pulled them out of my suitcase and put them on. She likes them now. Apparently they look much better on my feet than on the webpage. I should pursue a career in foot modelling.
 
In work news, my boss sent an email to the company. Being a corporate mogul without whimsical creativity, he sent it without a subject line. If I were sending it, I would have called the "I’m opening a big can of whup-ass" email.  Anyway, in it, he says "If Hobbes wants you to do something, do it. If Hobbes wants you to stop doing something, stop doing it. We will approve any and all recommendations she makes." This is a large sword of power. Hugh came into my office and passed on this tidbit from Spiderman: with great power comes great responsibility.
 
I walked into Allison’s office and told her to wash my car. She said no. 😦 So much for great power.
 
And for the final topic of the day (before I start doing some work – ugh): my mother agrees with Stella that I should be writing some kind of children’s book. Aside from the fact I think I want to title it "I’m opening a big can of whup-ass" (children should learn early), I don’t know what to write about. So if anyone has any good children’s book (or ‘young adult’ book) things I should write about, let me know. If I publish it, I’ll take you for dinner… but only at McDonald’s as children’s authors don’t get paid much. Unless you write a Harry Potter book. But then I’d be sued for copyright infringement.
Categories: Family, Work
  1. Unknown
    March 16, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    Hey Girl,
     
    Good to hear that you are back home.. wish that I could say the same.. this godforsaken place – what was she thinking and how the hell did I get persuaded to come here? Bleh. 
    Hey what\’s this business about looking for a new girlfriend- I thought you had one you rather liked. I guess I should stay in touch more. Jeepers.
    Thinking of you and hope you\’re well. Take care and say hi to your folks for me.
    CG 

  2. Allison
    March 21, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    You know I can\’t wash it until you make a project number for it.
     
    If you need an illustrator for your book I\’ll apply for the position. How about a book on kitties that smack dogs and bad kids and brainwash bosses to give big raises and invents a no cal chocolate? My grammar is killing you, I know. My apologies. 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

