Home > ROTC > OWWWWW!!!

OWWWWW!!!

Yesterday I did my first parade performance: the Santa Claus Parade in Brampton.
 
It started off fairly well – I wasn’t quite into the routine and stumbled a bit at the beginning. Then a friend from soccer, who had brought her family to the parade, spotted me and started cheering and yelling my name. She ran out into the route taking pictures. It was entertaining and the rest of my ROTC group seemed amused by my "fan club" but it did make me all nervous and I was off the routine for about 4 minutes.  Luckily, it was at the beginning where there weren’t any tv cameras… I hope.
 
The rest of the parade was better, at least from the perspective of my performance. I didn’t hit any children with my flag, not for lack of trying, and I only dropped my flag three times. I think this is good considering my arms were sore beyond belief. There were points I thought I wasn’t going to be able to finish, but thankfully, just when I was getting to the point of delirium, it was over. We had been twirling for 64 minutes non-stop.
 
I now have a new respect for people who do this. I keep thinking back to the Pride Parade in San Francisco: we were there for four hours and when we left, it still wasn’t over. I can’t imagine twirling for 4+ hours. Insane.
 
So for all you people who have been giving me grief for doing this, thinking it’s too girly – I dare you to try it. It’s painful. I’m dying here. And, thankfully, I don’t have to do it again today (I have a salsa class) – the rest of the group is doing another parade in Cobourg this afternoon. I’ll be joining them again for two parades next week so I have six days to recover.
 
Oh – if you don’t know what to get me for Christmas, I suggest a gift certificate for a massage… anything but the "Christmas Song" CD by Christina Aguellera…
Categories: ROTC
  1. S L
    November 20, 2005 at 12:53 pm

    Oh darn…I\’d better cancel that Amazon order…..Congrats on your twirling tenacity!

  2. Jenn
    November 21, 2005 at 3:55 pm

    are you implying that I might be able to catch a glimpse of your twirling endeavours on the telly? that would be cool!invest in some tiger balm. it is amazing stuff. you should be good as new be the weekend!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

