Home > Uncategorized > A rant about the news.

A rant about the news.

I had the tv on yesterday. During a commercial they showed a teaser for the evening news on the local news station. In this teaser, they showed a pair of hands pumping soap from a liquid soap dispenser.
 
The reporter voice was saying "Your antibacterial soap could be making you sick! We’ll tell you which ingredient you should be on the lookout for tonight at 6."
 
Yes, and yesterday ‘what you don’t know could be killing your children!"
 
This does not scare me into watching the news. It makes me roll my eyeballs at the absurd lengths that news programmes will go to in order to get us to watch.
 
I also get very annoyed by the fact that there is very little original news in a news broadcast (talk shows and entertainment tonight also have this problem). First they will tell you what’s coming up later in the broadcast, then they tell you when that same bit is coming up after the break, then they introduce the bit, then you get to see the actual bit. But by then, it’s not news – you’ve seen it three times. Plus however many times you saw it in the teaser BEFORE the news broadcast even started.
 
I hate it.
 
And I also hate when they have a reporter standing LIVE in front of a door or building where something happened earlier that day, but nothing is happening now. Why go live if there’s nothing to see?
 
I hate that too.
 
To all news producers out there: If you come up with a news programme that is unsensationalized, fact-based news delivered without hype and fanfare, I will watch. Especially if this means the newscast is now 30 minutes instead of 60 minutes or even better, if it’s 15 minutes!
 
Consider it. I’m sure I’m not the only one.
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jenn
    October 23, 2005 at 11:05 am

    Should we start a petition? I can\’t even remember the last time I watched the news.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

