Home > Uncategorized > Geek King

Geek King

I went to my first Scrabble club meeting yesterday. Essentially, people get together and play three games of Scrabble. They follow tournament rules and even use a timer. It’s very serious.
 
Since I arrived late (hard to believe, I know, but I got terribly lost and was walking around in the bushes for 45 minutes before I found the place), I arrived during the first game. I quietly observed.
 
The games I watched were being played by people who were creating 7-letter words all over the place. It was very intimidating. I started reading the information flyers and player standings and things of that nature. No one on the standings list was rated lower than 1100.  I also watched the second game (but of someone who was attending his first meeting). That was less intimidating.
 
Then, the third game, I played. And I won 357 – 339. Yeah, baby.
 
I’m so incredibly brilliant.
 
Then I went home to discover that I taped the wrong channel and therefore instead of taping the season premiere of survivor, I taped 3/4 of the season finale of CSI.
 
 
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. C
    September 16, 2005 at 9:44 am

    We taped Survivor, but only the last 50 minutes. So if you can live with not seeing the first ten it\’s all yours. I can courier it out to you!Scrabble is for babies.

  2. Jenn
    September 18, 2005 at 9:11 am

    Yes, it is true – you are incredibly brilliant. Believe it or not, I have actually found Scrabble players here and will be engaging them the instant my board arrives. What is with teachers here and their odd habit of not bringing anything but their clothes to the community? No games, no books, no movies, no nothing but their clothes!

  3. S
    September 19, 2005 at 7:52 pm

    i\’m going to get a scrabble timer. i\’m so excited.

  4. C
    September 20, 2005 at 4:31 pm

    See with the timer it would be better…it would add some pressure and stress to an otherwise uneventful time…get that timer and count me in!

  5. S
    September 20, 2005 at 6:50 pm

    yeah – the timer is cool. i love buttons that light up when i push them. i can\’t wait. everyone will want to play with me and my new timer! you\’re first on the list C8 – well after ang, who mentioned she wanted to beat me a few blogs ago.(who would have thought that scrabble would make me so popular – my co-workers look at me like i\’m nuts when i mention the scrabble club…)

  6. C
    September 21, 2005 at 11:25 am

    ooh! oooh! I didn\’t know that there were buttons that light up! *jumping up and down excitedly* I was thinking hourglass over here…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

