Home > Uncategorized > A Giggle of Seniors

A Giggle of Seniors

I had a couple of hours to kill between work and joining the wtb to watch Canadian Idol. So I went to see Broken Flowers at the Queensway Odeon.  I was there early, so I read Trans-Sister Radio (one of my library books) until it started.
 
My review of the movie: not awful. Very slow. Sharon Stone was unrecognizable.
 
My review of the book: excellent. I really like it so far, but I’m only about halfway through.
 
Anyway, as I was walking out of the movie, a group of elderly ladies (I think that’s called a "giggle"…) was also walking out. One turned to me and asked, "Did you think that movie was laugh out loud funny?"
 
I said that no, I did not think it was "laugh out loud" funny – it was a very subtle funny. She agreed and informed me that the tv commercial had said it was "laugh out loud" funny and that, although she HAD laughed out loud once or twice, she didn’t think it was "laugh out loud" funny.
 
Then her companion asked me if I liked it. I replied that it will do for a matinee. She replied that could be done in a half an hour. Apparently, she thought is was slow too.
 
Very much enjoying our conversation, I added that if the lighting were better, I would have read my book. She agreed and said "Dear, I would read it with you." And she couldn’t help but agree that at least it would be worse had we seen The 40 Year Old Virgin. Although maybe not. It did get some good reviews.
 
I hope that when I’m in my twilight years, I’ll have a giggle of women to go to bad movies with.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Miss
    August 18, 2005 at 1:13 pm

    If we\’re still friends when you\’re in your twilight years, I\’ll go to bad movies with you….Maybe we can live in the same retirement village!!

  2. Jenn
    August 18, 2005 at 4:51 pm

    Me too.

  3. S
    August 18, 2005 at 5:51 pm

    looks like it\’s going to be a lesbian giggle…

  4. S
    August 18, 2005 at 5:51 pm

    oh – and no dogs in my giggle!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

