Home > Uncategorized > Tense moment at the blood donor clinic

Tense moment at the blood donor clinic

So the nurse pricks my finger, collects some blood and drops it in the vial. The blood is supposed to drop down past the first line. When it does, they start timing the fall until it passes the second line. It has to fall within a specific amount of time or you’re rejected.
 
My blood hit the vial, sunk a bit, then floated back up. IT DIDN’T EVEN HIT THE FIRST LINE! What slacker blood I have.
 
Then they did the high-tech test on it to determine the actual iron level. You need a 112.5. I had a 112.6 – I just barely made it.
 
The nurse asked when the last time I had red meat was. I couldn’t remember. I blame the hippy fest. Darned hippies.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Elaine
    August 3, 2005 at 7:33 pm

    Hello, Bonjour, Hola!!!!!! I am the blog judge from the blogging club of Canada! I judge blogs across the nation. I judge them on color, background and the pictures they have. We judge them out of 10. If you get a 10 you could win a trip to Mexico!!!!!!!!!!! I give yours a 0 because of the lack of color, pictures and you have no background! You can try again next month.Sally Martin, President of the blogging club of Canada

  2. Jenn
    August 4, 2005 at 7:00 am

    Sonya Dearest,This decided lack of iron in your blood concerns me. There are many many foods which contain iron – it is not only in red meat, although that is the easiest place to get it. What you need is dulse and lots of it. Just skip on down to your local Asian market and buy up everything that looks like seaweed. Or go to the city market in Saint John and they will sell you buckets of the stuff for cheap. Sure, it is an aquired taste, but hell you aren\’t even indulging in a little steaky goodness right now, so what\’s the diff? Spinach and beet tops are also high in iron. So are many types of beans. Which brings me to the next question – what the hell ARE you eating anyway? You do know that even the Superstore offers FREE cooking classes, right?Love ya,Jenn

  3. S
    August 4, 2005 at 7:36 am

    It\’s far too hot to cook. 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

